Orna Ross
Header pattern
Header pattern
The Creativist Sign Up Form Image
Time To Go Creative! Free book, Creative Community and Monday Motivator.
* No spam ever. Unsubscribe anytime.

Category

Creative Writing

Posts in this category are about my own creative writing: my novels, my poetry, and the f-r-e-e-writing on which they rest.

Maud Gonne hears of John MacBride's Execution
Creative Writing: Excerpts, Fiction Friday, Friday Fiction

If you read this speech at the start of a novel, would you read on?

It’s Friday Fiction here on the blog, so I’ll be blogging Dancing in the Wind, Book Two in the Yeats-Gonne Trilogy here with weekly extracts in the Friday Fiction slot.

I’m thinking of opening Dancing With The Wind with one of Maud Gonne’s fiery political speeches.

Question: Would you read on if this was what you found in the first pages of a book?

Continue reading
Related posts
Indie Poetry Please! Call for Submissions March 2020
February 23, 2020
Alliance of Independent Authors Blog Roundup 2020 Week 8
February 20, 2020
Alliance of Independent Authors Blog Roundup 2020 Week 7
February 13, 2020
Related posts
Indie Poetry Please! Call for Submissions March 2020
February 23, 2020
Alliance of Independent Authors Blog Roundup 2020 Week 8
February 20, 2020
Alliance of Independent Authors Blog Roundup 2020 Week 7
February 13, 2020
Allowing Now: The Book and the Poem
Creative Writing: Inspirational Poetry

Mindfulness Poetry For Creatives

Allowing Now, my new book of mindfulness poetry for creatives is out. And while they are aimed at the general reader, I have a particular interest in mindfulness poetry for creatives. I’d love you to buy it, if that sort of thing appeals to you.

Continue reading
Related posts
Indie Poetry Please! Call for Submissions March 2020
February 23, 2020
Alliance of Independent Authors Blog Roundup 2020 Week 8
February 20, 2020
Alliance of Independent Authors Blog Roundup 2020 Week 7
February 13, 2020
Related posts
Indie Poetry Please! Call for Submissions March 2020
February 23, 2020
Alliance of Independent Authors Blog Roundup 2020 Week 8
February 20, 2020
Alliance of Independent Authors Blog Roundup 2020 Week 7
February 13, 2020
Related posts
Indie Poetry Please! Call for Submissions March 2020
February 23, 2020
Alliance of Independent Authors Blog Roundup 2020 Week 8
February 20, 2020
Alliance of Independent Authors Blog Roundup 2020 Week 7
February 13, 2020
Related posts
Indie Poetry Please! Call for Submissions March 2020
February 23, 2020
Alliance of Independent Authors Blog Roundup 2020 Week 8
February 20, 2020
Alliance of Independent Authors Blog Roundup 2020 Week 7
February 13, 2020
Related posts
Indie Poetry Please! Call for Submissions March 2020
February 23, 2020
Alliance of Independent Authors Blog Roundup 2020 Week 8
February 20, 2020
Alliance of Independent Authors Blog Roundup 2020 Week 7
February 13, 2020
Orna Ross Poetry Newsletter October 2019
Creative Writing: Inspirational Poetry

Orna Ross Poetry Newsletter October 2019

Here is your copy of the Orna Ross Poetry Newsletter October 2019.

It’s here, my latest poetry book, Allowing Now: A Book of Mindfulness Poems. This is poetry in the tradition of Mary Oliver, Maya Angelou, John O’Donoghue and others who write about the deepest dimensions of life from a spiritual rather than religious perspective. The book was inspired by the ancient wisdoms of Rumi and the most recent inspirational Instapoets.

Continue reading
Related posts
Indie Poetry Please! Call for Submissions March 2020
February 23, 2020
Alliance of Independent Authors Blog Roundup 2020 Week 8
February 20, 2020
Alliance of Independent Authors Blog Roundup 2020 Week 7
February 13, 2020