Orna Ross
Header pattern
Header pattern

Tag

creative moments

Poetry for Christmas
Creative Writing: Inspirational Poetry

Poetry for Christmas

The nights are drawing in here in London and the Christmas lights have just been turned on. This is a poem for the season, inspired by the Christmas angel outside Geenpark tube station, Picadilly. You can find it, and more poems for mid-winter, in my Poems for Christmas collection. It’s available in paperback and hardback, as well as ebook, and makes a great gift.

Continue reading
Related posts
Poem of the Week: Body Knows
May 9, 2021
Dancing in the Wind Extract: Iseult Gonne and Ezra Pound
May 7, 2021
Poem of the Week: Seeds
May 2, 2021
Allowing Now: The Book and the Poem
Creative Writing: Inspirational Poetry

Mindfulness Poetry For Creatives

Allowing Now, my new book of mindfulness poetry for creatives is out. And while they are aimed at the general reader, I have a particular interest in mindfulness poetry for creatives. I’d love you to buy it, if that sort of thing appeals to you.

Continue reading
Related posts
Poem of the Week: Body Knows
May 9, 2021
Dancing in the Wind Extract: Iseult Gonne and Ezra Pound
May 7, 2021
Poem of the Week: Seeds
May 2, 2021
New Poem: Tree Alert
Creative Writing: Inspirational Poetry

A New Poem: Tree Alert

The trees in London are spectacular at the moment. This particular beauty gave me a new poem: Tree Alert.

Continue reading
Related posts
Poem of the Week: Body Knows
May 9, 2021
Dancing in the Wind Extract: Iseult Gonne and Ezra Pound
May 7, 2021
Poem of the Week: Seeds
May 2, 2021
Related posts
Poem of the Week: Body Knows
May 9, 2021
Dancing in the Wind Extract: Iseult Gonne and Ezra Pound
May 7, 2021
Poem of the Week: Seeds
May 2, 2021
Orna Ross Poetry Newsletter October 2019
Creative Writing: Inspirational Poetry

Orna Ross Poetry Newsletter October 2019

Here is your copy of the Orna Ross Poetry Newsletter October 2019.

It’s here, my latest poetry book, Allowing Now: A Book of Mindfulness Poems. This is poetry in the tradition of Mary Oliver, Maya Angelou, John O’Donoghue and others who write about the deepest dimensions of life from a spiritual rather than religious perspective. The book was inspired by the ancient wisdoms of Rumi and the most recent inspirational Instapoets.

Continue reading
Related posts
Poem of the Week: Body Knows
May 9, 2021
Dancing in the Wind Extract: Iseult Gonne and Ezra Pound
May 7, 2021
Poem of the Week: Seeds
May 2, 2021
Audio Poem: Where Are You?
Creative Writing: Inspirational Poetry

Would You Like A Free Poetry Book?

This post is about October’s exclusive Patreon poem for patrons: The Rings of Our Being

My friends Clarisse and Bobby are getting married soon and they asked me to write a poem for the wedding, a translation of one of the old Irish love poems.

Continue reading
Related posts
Poem of the Week: Body Knows
May 9, 2021
Dancing in the Wind Extract: Iseult Gonne and Ezra Pound
May 7, 2021
Poem of the Week: Seeds
May 2, 2021
Pteronophobia
Creative Writing: Inspirational Poetry

This Week’s Poetry to Inspire: Pteronophobia (fear of feathers)

Today’s poem, Pteronophobia, was inspired by a trip to Matthew’s Yard in Croydon, where my daughter lives. This creative hub is home to the first fully crowd-funded theatre in the UK, a successful art gallery, showcasing the work of emerging local artists and multifunction space which hosts a diverse range of arts and community events.

Continue reading
Related posts
Poem of the Week: Body Knows
May 9, 2021
Dancing in the Wind Extract: Iseult Gonne and Ezra Pound
May 7, 2021
Poem of the Week: Seeds
May 2, 2021
Related posts
Poem of the Week: Body Knows
May 9, 2021
Dancing in the Wind Extract: Iseult Gonne and Ezra Pound
May 7, 2021
Poem of the Week: Seeds
May 2, 2021
Emigration Song
Creative Writing: Inspirational Poetry

This Weeks Poetry to Inspire: Emigration Song

I recently took a create date in County Wexford, the corner of Ireland where I was born and raised, and the place that I find more creatively inspiring than anywhere else in the world. It gave me this poem about emigration.

Continue reading
Related posts
Poem of the Week: Body Knows
May 9, 2021
Dancing in the Wind Extract: Iseult Gonne and Ezra Pound
May 7, 2021
Poem of the Week: Seeds
May 2, 2021
Related posts
Poem of the Week: Body Knows
May 9, 2021
Dancing in the Wind Extract: Iseult Gonne and Ezra Pound
May 7, 2021
Poem of the Week: Seeds
May 2, 2021
0