Orna Ross
Header pattern
Header pattern

Tag

creative

Poetry for Christmas
Creative Writing: Inspirational Poetry

Poetry for Christmas

The nights are drawing in here in London and the Christmas lights have just been turned on. This is a poem for the season, inspired by the Christmas angel outside Geenpark tube station, Picadilly. You can find it, and more poems for mid-winter, in my Poems for Christmas collection. It’s available in paperback and hardback, as well as ebook, and makes a great gift.

Continue reading
Related posts
Latest News and Resources from ALLi – Week 28 2020
July 9, 2020
Indie Poetry Please! Call for Submissions August 2020
July 6, 2020
Poem of the Week: Surfacing
July 5, 2020
Related posts
Latest News and Resources from ALLi – Week 28 2020
July 9, 2020
Indie Poetry Please! Call for Submissions August 2020
July 6, 2020
Poem of the Week: Surfacing
July 5, 2020
Orna Ross Poetry Newsletter October 2019
Creative Writing: Inspirational Poetry

Orna Ross Poetry Newsletter October 2019

Here is your copy of the Orna Ross Poetry Newsletter October 2019.

It’s here, my latest poetry book, Allowing Now: A Book of Mindfulness Poems. This is poetry in the tradition of Mary Oliver, Maya Angelou, John O’Donoghue and others who write about the deepest dimensions of life from a spiritual rather than religious perspective. The book was inspired by the ancient wisdoms of Rumi and the most recent inspirational Instapoets.

Continue reading
Related posts
Latest News and Resources from ALLi – Week 28 2020
July 9, 2020
Indie Poetry Please! Call for Submissions August 2020
July 6, 2020
Poem of the Week: Surfacing
July 5, 2020
free poetry book
Creative Writing: Inspirational Poetry

Would You Like A Free Poetry Book?

This post is about October’s exclusive Patreon poem for patrons: The Rings of Our Being

My friends Clarisse and Bobby are getting married soon and they asked me to write a poem for the wedding, a translation of one of the old Irish love poems.

Continue reading
Related posts
Latest News and Resources from ALLi – Week 28 2020
July 9, 2020
Indie Poetry Please! Call for Submissions August 2020
July 6, 2020
Poem of the Week: Surfacing
July 5, 2020
Pteronophobia
Creative Writing: Inspirational Poetry

This Week’s Poetry to Inspire: Pteronophobia (fear of feathers)

Today’s poem, Pteronophobia, was inspired by a trip to Matthew’s Yard in Croydon, where my daughter lives. This creative hub is home to the first fully crowd-funded theatre in the UK, a successful art gallery, showcasing the work of emerging local artists and multifunction space which hosts a diverse range of arts and community events.

Continue reading
Related posts
Latest News and Resources from ALLi – Week 28 2020
July 9, 2020
Indie Poetry Please! Call for Submissions August 2020
July 6, 2020
Poem of the Week: Surfacing
July 5, 2020
the rest of our being
Creative Writing: Inspirational Poetry

This Week’s Poetry to Inspire: “The Rest of Our Being” + Callout For Indie Poetry Submissions

New Poem Reveal: The Rest of Our Being As well as books and other bonuses, my patrons get exclusive poetry hot off the creative presses, a full three months before anyone else gets to read or hear it. This week’s poem, The Rest of Our Being, was originally published in June 2019 and is now open to the public. It’s called “The Rest of Our Being”, and it’s a cry of hope for humankind. You can read and hear it in audio now on Patreon and I hope you enjoy it. It will be included in my next selection of…

Continue reading
Related posts
Latest News and Resources from ALLi – Week 28 2020
July 9, 2020
Indie Poetry Please! Call for Submissions August 2020
July 6, 2020
Poem of the Week: Surfacing
July 5, 2020
Emigration Song
Creative Writing: Inspirational Poetry

This Weeks Poetry to Inspire: Emigration Song

I recently took a create date in County Wexford, the corner of Ireland where I was born and raised, and the place that I find more creatively inspiring than anywhere else in the world. It gave me this poem about emigration.

Continue reading
Related posts
Latest News and Resources from ALLi – Week 28 2020
July 9, 2020
Indie Poetry Please! Call for Submissions August 2020
July 6, 2020
Poem of the Week: Surfacing
July 5, 2020
Related posts
Latest News and Resources from ALLi – Week 28 2020
July 9, 2020
Indie Poetry Please! Call for Submissions August 2020
July 6, 2020
Poem of the Week: Surfacing
July 5, 2020
Related posts
Latest News and Resources from ALLi – Week 28 2020
July 9, 2020
Indie Poetry Please! Call for Submissions August 2020
July 6, 2020
Poem of the Week: Surfacing
July 5, 2020
Inspirational Poetry: You Will Never Find Yourself
Creative Writing: Inspirational Poetry

Today’s Inspirational Poetry: You Will Never Find Yourself

My daughter and I took a trip to the Kiss My Genders Exhibition at The Hayward Gallery (more about this in Tuesday’s Create Date) and there was a booth playing the old pride anthem “I Am What I Am”. Daughter started to dance and I managed to capture the moment on Insta (see below) and it inspired a poem. Here it is, this week’s inspirational poetry: You Will Never Find Yourself You Will Never Find Yourself Whatever you do my dear maker don’t go looking for yourself or seeking to improve. You are not to be found no. And nothing…

Continue reading
Related posts
Latest News and Resources from ALLi – Week 28 2020
July 9, 2020
Indie Poetry Please! Call for Submissions August 2020
July 6, 2020
Poem of the Week: Surfacing
July 5, 2020