Orna Ross
Header pattern
Header pattern

Tag

Poetry

Related posts
Indie Poetry Please! Call for Submissions August 2020
July 6, 2020
Poem of the Week: Surfacing
July 5, 2020
Latest News and Resources from ALLi – Week 27 2020
July 2, 2020
mindfulness and poetry
Creative Writing: Inspiration Meditation, Self-Publishing Poetry Podcast

Mindfulness and Poetry: Introduction to Allowing Now and a Mindfulness Poem by Thich Nhat Hanh

Practicing mindfulness, though they would never have called it that, is something that poets have always done. And poetry readers too. Reading mindfulness poetry requires as much creative attention and presence as writing it. I’d been writing for almost a decade before I was introduced to the word and the concept of mindfulness, by the Vietnamese zen master, Thich Nhat Hanh, dubbed “the father of mindfulness in the west”. So that’s what it’s called, I thought, when I first heard his succinct explanation of what it is to experience mindfulness. Suppose you are offered a cup of tea, very fragrant, very…

Continue reading
Related posts
Indie Poetry Please! Call for Submissions August 2020
July 6, 2020
Poem of the Week: Surfacing
July 5, 2020
Latest News and Resources from ALLi – Week 27 2020
July 2, 2020
Orna Ross Poetry Newsletter October 2019
Creative Writing: Inspirational Poetry

Orna Ross Poetry Newsletter October 2019

Here is your copy of the Orna Ross Poetry Newsletter October 2019.

It’s here, my latest poetry book, Allowing Now: A Book of Mindfulness Poems. This is poetry in the tradition of Mary Oliver, Maya Angelou, John O’Donoghue and others who write about the deepest dimensions of life from a spiritual rather than religious perspective. The book was inspired by the ancient wisdoms of Rumi and the most recent inspirational Instapoets.

Continue reading
Related posts
Indie Poetry Please! Call for Submissions August 2020
July 6, 2020
Poem of the Week: Surfacing
July 5, 2020
Latest News and Resources from ALLi – Week 27 2020
July 2, 2020
free poetry book
Creative Writing: Inspirational Poetry

Would You Like A Free Poetry Book?

This post is about October’s exclusive Patreon poem for patrons: The Rings of Our Being

My friends Clarisse and Bobby are getting married soon and they asked me to write a poem for the wedding, a translation of one of the old Irish love poems.

Continue reading
Related posts
Indie Poetry Please! Call for Submissions August 2020
July 6, 2020
Poem of the Week: Surfacing
July 5, 2020
Latest News and Resources from ALLi – Week 27 2020
July 2, 2020
Pteronophobia
Creative Writing: Inspirational Poetry

This Week’s Poetry to Inspire: Pteronophobia (fear of feathers)

Today’s poem, Pteronophobia, was inspired by a trip to Matthew’s Yard in Croydon, where my daughter lives. This creative hub is home to the first fully crowd-funded theatre in the UK, a successful art gallery, showcasing the work of emerging local artists and multifunction space which hosts a diverse range of arts and community events.

Continue reading
Related posts
Indie Poetry Please! Call for Submissions August 2020
July 6, 2020
Poem of the Week: Surfacing
July 5, 2020
Latest News and Resources from ALLi – Week 27 2020
July 2, 2020
the rest of our being
Creative Writing: Inspirational Poetry

This Week’s Poetry to Inspire: “The Rest of Our Being” + Callout For Indie Poetry Submissions

New Poem Reveal: The Rest of Our Being As well as books and other bonuses, my patrons get exclusive poetry hot off the creative presses, a full three months before anyone else gets to read or hear it. This week’s poem, The Rest of Our Being, was originally published in June 2019 and is now open to the public. It’s called “The Rest of Our Being”, and it’s a cry of hope for humankind. You can read and hear it in audio now on Patreon and I hope you enjoy it. It will be included in my next selection of…

Continue reading
Related posts
Indie Poetry Please! Call for Submissions August 2020
July 6, 2020
Poem of the Week: Surfacing
July 5, 2020
Latest News and Resources from ALLi – Week 27 2020
July 2, 2020
Indie Poetry Please! podcast
Creative Publishing: Alliance of Independent Authors, Indie Poetry Please! Podcast, Self-Publishing Poetry Podcast

Indie Poetry Please! Podcast: Submission Guidelines

The Alliance of Independent Author’s Self-Publishing Poetry Podcast has generated an offshoot: Indie Poetry Please! Yes, we want to hear you read your poems. Or if you’re shy, and spoken word is not your thing, we’ll read them for you on our monthly podcast. For poets, this podcast is a safe online space to read and perform, to get advice about online poetry publishing and creative enterprise, and get more attention for your work. (Submission guidelines below). For poetry lovers, it’s a chance to hear new work within the most exciting growth area in indie publishing: poetry. Indie Poetry Please! Podcast: How To Submit Your Poems 1. RECORD: Record a…

Continue reading
Related posts
Indie Poetry Please! Call for Submissions August 2020
July 6, 2020
Poem of the Week: Surfacing
July 5, 2020
Latest News and Resources from ALLi – Week 27 2020
July 2, 2020
Recording Audio Poetry
Creative Publishing: Audiobooks, Creative Business, Self-Publishing Poetry Podcast

Recording Audio Poetry for the Self-Publishing Poetry Podcast

This is a comprehensive guide to recording audio poetry that will give you all you need to know to record a poem in .mp3 format for the Self-Publishing Poetry Podcast. The first part of the post is about creative confidence and craft. The second part of the post is about using the simplest possible tech The third is about editing and submitting your post Please note: if you need technical support to make your audio submission, contact Howard Lovy, Multimedia Manager at the Alliance of Independent Authors, who will be able to answer your questions: howard@allianceindependentauthors.org. Follow the tips below to record a poem you can be proud of listening to yourself, not…

Continue reading
Related posts
Indie Poetry Please! Call for Submissions August 2020
July 6, 2020
Poem of the Week: Surfacing
July 5, 2020
This Month’s Exclusive Poem for Patrons: Doing Dreams
July 1, 2020
Emigration Song
Creative Writing: Inspirational Poetry

This Weeks Poetry to Inspire: Emigration Song

I recently took a create date in County Wexford, the corner of Ireland where I was born and raised, and the place that I find more creatively inspiring than anywhere else in the world. It gave me this poem about emigration.

Continue reading
Related posts
Indie Poetry Please! Call for Submissions August 2020
July 6, 2020
Poem of the Week: Surfacing
July 5, 2020
Latest News and Resources from ALLi – Week 27 2020
July 2, 2020
Related posts
Indie Poetry Please! Call for Submissions August 2020
July 6, 2020
Poem of the Week: Surfacing
July 5, 2020
Latest News and Resources from ALLi – Week 27 2020
July 2, 2020