Orna Ross
Orna Ross Header Image
Header pattern
Header pattern
The Creativist Sign Up Form Image
Time To Go Creative! Free book, Creative Community and Monday Motivator.
* No spam ever. Unsubscribe anytime.

Tag

creative writing

opening Dancing in the Wind
Creative Writing: Excerpts, Fiction Friday, Friday Fiction

If you read this speech at the start of a novel, would you read on?

It’s Friday Fiction here on the blog, so I’ll be blogging Dancing in the Wind, Book Two in the Yeats-Gonne Trilogy here with weekly extracts in the Friday Fiction slot.

I’m thinking of opening Dancing With The Wind with one of Maud Gonne’s fiery political speeches.

Question: Would you read on if this was what you found in the first pages of a book?

Continue reading
Related posts
What’s the best novel-writing app: Latest #AskALLi Self-Publishing Advice Podcast
November 21, 2019
Alliance of Independent Authors Blog Roundup 2019 Week 47
November 20, 2019
Creative Intentions Week 47 2019 for the Alliance of Independent Authors and Orna Ross Publications
November 17, 2019
Related posts
What’s the best novel-writing app: Latest #AskALLi Self-Publishing Advice Podcast
November 21, 2019
Alliance of Independent Authors Blog Roundup 2019 Week 47
November 20, 2019
Creative Intentions Week 47 2019 for the Alliance of Independent Authors and Orna Ross Publications
November 17, 2019
Related posts
What’s the best novel-writing app: Latest #AskALLi Self-Publishing Advice Podcast
November 21, 2019
Alliance of Independent Authors Blog Roundup 2019 Week 47
November 20, 2019
Creative Intentions Week 47 2019 for the Alliance of Independent Authors and Orna Ross Publications
November 17, 2019
Related posts
What’s the best novel-writing app: Latest #AskALLi Self-Publishing Advice Podcast
November 21, 2019
Alliance of Independent Authors Blog Roundup 2019 Week 47
November 20, 2019
Creative Intentions Week 47 2019 for the Alliance of Independent Authors and Orna Ross Publications
November 17, 2019
Orna Ross Poetry Newsletter October 2019
Creative Writing: Inspirational Poetry

Orna Ross Poetry Newsletter October 2019

Here is your copy of the Orna Ross Poetry Newsletter October 2019.

It’s here, my latest poetry book, Allowing Now: A Book of Mindfulness Poems. This is poetry in the tradition of Mary Oliver, Maya Angelou, John O’Donoghue and others who write about the deepest dimensions of life from a spiritual rather than religious perspective. The book was inspired by the ancient wisdoms of Rumi and the most recent inspirational Instapoets.

Continue reading
Related posts
What’s the best novel-writing app: Latest #AskALLi Self-Publishing Advice Podcast
November 21, 2019
Alliance of Independent Authors Blog Roundup 2019 Week 47
November 20, 2019
Creative Intentions Week 47 2019 for the Alliance of Independent Authors and Orna Ross Publications
November 17, 2019
Related posts
What’s the best novel-writing app: Latest #AskALLi Self-Publishing Advice Podcast
November 21, 2019
Alliance of Independent Authors Blog Roundup 2019 Week 47
November 20, 2019
Creative Intentions Week 47 2019 for the Alliance of Independent Authors and Orna Ross Publications
November 17, 2019
free poetry book
Creative Writing: Inspirational Poetry

Would You Like A Free Poetry Book?

This post is about October’s exclusive Patreon poem for patrons: The Rings of Our Being

My friends Clarisse and Bobby are getting married soon and they asked me to write a poem for the wedding, a translation of one of the old Irish love poems.

Continue reading
Related posts
What’s the best novel-writing app: Latest #AskALLi Self-Publishing Advice Podcast
November 21, 2019
Alliance of Independent Authors Blog Roundup 2019 Week 47
November 20, 2019
Creative Intentions Week 47 2019 for the Alliance of Independent Authors and Orna Ross Publications
November 17, 2019
Pteronophobia
Creative Writing: Inspirational Poetry

This Week’s Poetry to Inspire: Pteronophobia (fear of feathers)

Today’s poem, Pteronophobia, was inspired by a trip to Matthew’s Yard in Croydon, where my daughter lives. This creative hub is home to the first fully crowd-funded theatre in the UK, a successful art gallery, showcasing the work of emerging local artists and multifunction space which hosts a diverse range of arts and community events.

Continue reading
Related posts
What’s the best novel-writing app: Latest #AskALLi Self-Publishing Advice Podcast
November 21, 2019
Alliance of Independent Authors Blog Roundup 2019 Week 47
November 20, 2019
Creative Intentions Week 47 2019 for the Alliance of Independent Authors and Orna Ross Publications
November 17, 2019
Related posts
What’s the best novel-writing app: Latest #AskALLi Self-Publishing Advice Podcast
November 21, 2019
Alliance of Independent Authors Blog Roundup 2019 Week 47
November 20, 2019
Creative Intentions Week 47 2019 for the Alliance of Independent Authors and Orna Ross Publications
November 17, 2019
Related posts
What’s the best novel-writing app: Latest #AskALLi Self-Publishing Advice Podcast
November 21, 2019
Alliance of Independent Authors Blog Roundup 2019 Week 47
November 20, 2019
Creative Intentions Week 47 2019 for the Alliance of Independent Authors and Orna Ross Publications
November 17, 2019